Ma. Claire Adorna sets two new records on day 2 of the 76th UAAP Swimming Championship


Despite the threat of suspension prior to the championship, Ma. Claire Adorna came prepared and broke two new records on the second day of the 76th UAAP Swimming Championship in Trace Aquatic Center, Laguna.

In her senior year at University of the Philippines, Ma. Claire Adorna swam neck to neck with defending champion, Delia Angela Cordero, in the 400m Freestyle event. She won the gold in a record time of 4:33.69, upsetting fellow lady maroons, Cordero, who settled for the silver with a time of 4.33.97. Previous record holder, Kimberly Uy, finished third, 4:34.18.

Adorna then came back to the pool for the 200m Backstroke finals, and again swam her way to another record breaking finish. She registered a new record of 2:23.53, breaking Jacklyn Junio’s 2:27.62 record set last year. Earlier in the trials, she already broke the record with a time of 2:24.98.

Yesterdays’ record breakers, Axel Steven Ngui, Denjylie Cordero, Maurice Sacho Ilustre, and Christine Jhoy Mendoza again swam to another record today.

Last year’s Rookie of the Year, Axel Steven Ngui, reset his 2012 400m Freestyle record to 4:08.06; while Denjylie Cordero also reset her 2010 50m Breaststroke to 34.01.

Maurice Sacho Ilustre, last year’s Rookie of the Year – Boys Division – , broke Gian Berino’s 4:21.46 record set in 2009, with a new record time of 4:19.48 in the 400 Freestyle event. He also finished second in the 100m Butterfly boys event with a time of 1:00.76; which was won by Ateneos’ Gerard Christoffe Reyes, 1:00.53.

On the other hand, Christine Jhoy Mendoza broke the 13 year old record of Veronica Manotok in the 400m Freestyle event (4:48.47). She finished the race with a new record time of 4:45.99. And she also took the 100m Butterfly girls gold medal with a winning time of 1:08.91.

Other record breakers of the day are Ateneo’s Celina Gonzalez, who reset her 2011 100m Butterfly record to 1:03.44; Joshua Taleon who broke Miguel Alberto Pesuena’s 50m Breastroke Boys record (31.94) in the morning trials, with a new record time of 31.92; and the Anteneo’s 100m Freestyle Relay Women’s team composed of Angelica-Enrile Inton, Jacquelyne Ann Cruz, Kimberly Uy and Roanne Florence Yu (4.13.10)

Team standing after day 2 of the competition:

Mens: (1) UP 175 (2) ADMU 158 (3) DLSU 133 (4) UST 75 (5) UE 12
Women: (1) UP 241 (2) ADMU 187 (3) DLSU 41

Boys: (1) ADMU 251 (2) DLS Zobel 106 (3) UST 89 (4) UE 67 (5) UP 46
Girls: (1) UE 197 (2) UST 154 (3) DLS Zobel 91 (4) UP 91

Below are the complete day 2 winners of the 76th UAAP Swimming Championship:

400m Freestyle Men
Gold : Axel Steven Ngui (Ateneo), 4:08.06 NR
Silver: Franz Marquez (UST), 4:13.46
Bronze : Jose Gio Fidel Palencia (Ateneo), 4:15.69

400m Freestyle Women
Gold : Ma. Claire Adorna (UP), 4:33.69 NR
Silver : Delia Angela Cordero (UP), 4:33.97 NR
Bronze : Kimberly Uy (Ateneo), 4:34.18

400m Freestyle Boys
Gold : Maurice Sacho Ilustre (UE), 4:19.48 NR
Silver : Alberto Batungbacal (Ateneo), 4:21.06
Bronze : Miguel Antonio Arellano (Ateneo), 4:34.68

400m Freestyle Girls
Gold : Christine Jhoy Mendoza (UE), 4:45.99 NR
Silver : Pricilla Aquino (UP), 4:52.13
Bronze : Claire Anne Galang (UE), 5:05.49

50m Breaststroke Boys
Gold : Joshua Taleon (Ateneo) 32.01
Silver : Alberto Batungbacal (Ateneo) 32.15
Bronze : Skyler Claveria (UST), 32.17

50m Breaststroke Girls
Gold : Ronalyn Joyce Lalimo (UST), 36.47
Silver : Pricila Aquino (UP), 37.82
Bronze : Zsuzsanna Renee Gatchalian (UST), 38.18

100m Butterfly Men
Gold : Gabriel Castelo (UP), 57.45
Silver : Johansen Benedict Aguilar (Lasalle), 58.11
Bronze : Jose Gio Fidel Palencia (Ateneo), 59.36

100m Butterfly Women
Gold : Anna Celina Gonzalez (Ateneo), 1:03.44 NR
Silver : Delia Angela Cordero (UP), 1:03.52 NR
Bronze : Sabrina Ingrid Ilustre (Lasalle), 1:08.39

100m Butterfly Boys
Gold : Gerard Christoffe Reyes (Ateneo), 1:00.53
Silver : Maurice Sacho Ilustre (UE), 1:00.76
Bronze : Skyler Claveria (UST), 1:02.27

100m Butterfly Girls
Gold : Christine Joy Mendoza (UE), 1:08.91
Silver : Carmen Rose Matabuena (UE), 1:10.99
Bronze : Ariana Mikaela Canaya (UST), 1:15.06

200m Backstroke Men
Gold : Johansen Benedict Aguilar (Lasalle), 2:12. 19
Silver : MJ Alindogan (UP), 2:20.36
Bronze : Jan Jeric Santos (Ateneo), 2:21.58

200m Backstroke Women
Gold : Ma. Claire Adorna (UP), 2:23.53 NR
Silver : Whitney Eunice Dy (UP), 2:28.93
Bronze : Anna Dominique Bartolome (UP), 2:32.10

200m Backstroke Boys
Gold : Gerard Christoffe Reyes (Ateneo), 2:17.43
Silver : Akiva Jose Carino (Ateneo) 2:22.03
Bronze : Franco Teves (Lasalle), 2:25.39

200m Backstroke Girls
Gold : Claire Anne Galang (UE), 2:32.16
Silver : Francheska Joves (UP), 2:43.23
Bronze : Ingrid Dizon (Lasalle), 2:53.12

4x100m Freestyle Relay Men
Gold : 3:48.83, UP (Rianney Reynoso, Francis Pallasiqui, Benssen Ong, Joshua Balinas)
Silver : 3:52.29, Ateneo (Geoffrey Que, Michael Cocabo, Jan Jeric Santos, Luis Dapat)
Bronze : 3:52.67, Lasalle (Sixto Lalanto, Miguel Ampil, Joshua Protasio, Ron Tan)

4x100m Freestyle Relay Women
Gold: 4:13.00 NR, Ateneo (Angelica Inton, Ann Cruz, Kimberly Uy, Florence Yu)
Silver : 4:16.79, UP (Monica Padilla, Riel Tanyag, Whitney Dy, Erica Lukang)
Bronze : 4:51.17, Lasalle (Isabelita Teano, Jia De Guzman, Lorraine Angkiko, Sarah Castaneda)

4x100m Freestyle Relay Boys
Gold : 3:55.67, Lasalle (Luis Barangan, Joaquin Burgos, Franco Teves, David Mendoza)
Silver : 4:03.99, Ateneo (David de Guzman, Vince Martin, Joshua Yang, Joaquin Francisco)
Bronze : 4:29.01, UST (Skyler Claveria, Emerson Guce, Roberto Frias, Lorenzo Penafiel)

4x100m Freestyle Girls
Gold : 4:45.17, UST (Alyssa Gertes, Imma Managuelod, Ana dela Cruz, Leanne Llamas)
Silver : 4:52.93, Lasalle (Selena Colonel, Cloris Paz, Anya Ramos, Christiana Verzo)
Bronze : 4:54.24, UE (Maureen Mallares, Princess Domingo, Cacycee Mendoza, Julianne Landas)

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *