Philippine Amateur Sepak Takraw Association asks for more SEA Games entries


28th_Kings_Cup_Sepak_Takraw_World_Championship_PhilippinesA gold, two silver and three bronze medal harvest at the recently concluded 28th Kings Cup World Championships is enough reason for Philippine Amateur Sepak Takraw Association (PASTA) to ask POC for additional athletes to be included in the 27th Southeast Asian Games line-up.

With Jason Huerte, Rheyjey Ortouste and Emmanuel Escote already included in the 2013 SEAG line-up, PASTA secretary general Karen Tanchangco-Caballero appealed to POC to include three more athletes to beef-up the team.

“Adding Ronsited Cabayeron, Rudolph Alvarez and Metodio Suico Jr. will allow the country to take part in the hoop event and raise the chances of winning more medals because we will be able to participate in four of 10 contested events,” Caballero said.

“The recent medal victories in the King’s Cup World Championships, we in PASTA believe, is enough reason for our sport to entitle to a delegation bigger than a three-athlete contingent,” Caballero added.

Caballero stressed that if the potential gold medal criteria is POC’s basis for the composition of the SEAG team, then the medal winners in a big and prestigious competition like the King’s Cup must earn a slot for Myanmar.

Citing the women’s team’s performance also at the King’s Cup, PASTA also asked the POC to include the women’s team based on their silver and bronze medal finish.

The winners of the 28th King’s Cup Sepak Takraw World Championship last Sept. 16-23 in Udon, Thailand are as follows:

Gold Medal:

Men’s Team Event
Jason Huerte, Rheyjey Ortouste, Ronsited Cabayeron, Rudolph Alvarez, Emmanuel Escote, Arnel Isorena, Junmar Aleta, John John Babier, Ediran Resueno, Marbie Quirante, Abdulwasif Dimaporo and Rhenwell Catana.

Silver Medal:

Men’s Regu Team
Ronsited Cabayeron, Jason Huerte, Rheyjey Ortouste, Arnel Isorena and Rudolph Escote

Women’s Regu Team
Chiqui Dionesio, Rhea Padrigo, Irene Dizon, Jamaica Ranez and Kristel Karloman

Bronze Medals:

Men’s Hoop Team
Metodio Suico Jr., Rudolph Alvarez, Jason Huerte, Junmar Aleta, Marbie Quirante and Ronsited Cabayeron

Women’s Doubles
Chiqui Dionesio and Jamaica Ranez, with Diafe Valdez

Women’s Team Event
Chiqui Dionesio, Rhea Padrigo, Irene Dizon, Jamaica Ranez, Kristel Karloman, Roymie Calbay, Sherlane Hapin, Isabel Paayoran, Diafe Valdez and Irene Dizon

Sepak takraw managed only a lone bronze medal in the last SEA Games two years ago in Indonesia.

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *