Athletics and rowing lead Philippines SEAG gold hunt today


Benjie_Tolentino_SEA_Games_2013After a successful opening performance yesterday, Philippine athletics team will again lead Philippines’ hunt for gold today, along with Filipino rowers, in the 27th Southeast Asian Games in Myanmar.

Eric Panique takes the first plunge today as the fight for the gold medal in the men’s marathon kicks-off at 6:00am.

The morning action continues with SEAG 2011 bronze medalist Lorelie Sermona seeing action in the women’s hammer throw, while pole vaulter Ernest John Obiena guns for his first SEA Games medal in the afternoon, along with SEAG 2011 silver medalist Narcisa Atienza in heptathlon.

Rowing competitions also get underway with Philippines all-male team composed of Benjie Tolentino, Edgar Ilas, Alvin Amposta and Roque Abala trying to get their fair share of the first three gold medals up for grabs in the morning.

Men’s rowing events that offer gold medals today are the M1x Finals, LM2x Finals and LM4 Finals.

Swimming has Jessie Khing Lacuna, Jasmine Alkhaldi and Matt Navata taking part in the freestyle & butterfly events, while GMs Eugene Torre and John Paul Gomez compete in the chess 960 individual rapid.

Dennis Orcollo barely made it past Ibrahim Amir of Malaysia, 9-8, on Sunday and will try to complete his domination of 9-ball singles in the remaining rounds.

Bikers who had sneaked-in a gold medal yesterday in the road race, will again gun for another gold today with Arnold Marcelo, Alfie Catalan, John Paul Morales and John Renee Mier seeing action at the Men’s Road Race 100km Team.

Philippines’ men and women’s golf team are also seeing action today with the men’s team kicking off their round 2 campaign, while the women’s in their first round of competition.

Philippines golf team is composed of John Kier Abdon, Jobim Antonio Carlos, Rupert Zaragosa III, Justin Raphael Quiban, Princess Mary Superal, Katrina Marie Briones and Clare Amelia Legaspi.

The sailing team on the other hand are set to see action in the rounds 4 to 6 of their respective competitions.

The sailing team in action today are Richly Magsanay and Ridgely Balladares (R4-6: Men’s International 470 Sailing), Rubin Cruz (R4-6: Men’s Laser Standard Sailing), Renz Angelo Amboy (R4-6: Men’s RS one(wind surfing) Boys Sailing), Alaiza Mae Belmonte (R4-6: Women’s Laser Radial Sailing), and Geylord Coveta (R4-6: Open RS One (wind surfing).

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *