National swimmer Hannah Dato breaks Philippine national record


Multiple Philippine National Games gold medalist and national swimmer Hannah Dato just added another feather in her cap after breaking the Women’s 200m Individual Medley Philippine National record at the 2nd Southeast Asian Federation Swimming Championship in Singapore on the last day of the championship yesterday.

Nineteen year-old Dato was seeded ninth in the Women’s 200m Individual Medley event with her seed time of 2:24.54. She then clocked 2:28.14 in yesterday’s morning preliminary heats, enough to rank 8th and advance to the evening finals.

Swimming in lane 1 in the final swim, Dato braved the water and clocked a new Philippine national record time of 2:21.00, clinching her the fourth spot in the evening finals.

The Ateneo de Manila University sophomore student erased the 2:23.16 women’s 200m individual medley national record of Erica Totten which was registered four years ago at the 2010 Asian Games in Guangzhou, China. It was Fil-Am swimmer Totten who broke Akiko Thompson’s long time record of 2:24.19 in the said event set in 1993 SEA Games.

With Dato’s 2:21.00 new national record, she now ranks 5th among Southeast Asian Swimmers this year in the women’s 200m individual medley event, and ranks first among Filipino swimmers.

This is her third Top 10 placement in the SEA Swimming Ranking, where she also currently ranks 6th in the 100m Butterfly and 7th in the 400m Individual Medley events.

Hannah Dato now joins the ranks of Roxanne Ashley Yu, Josh Hall, Dhill Anderson Lee and Jessie Khing Lacuna who are among the SEA Region’s Top 10 Swimmers in LC events this year.

Roxanne Yu is currently SEA’s 3rd best swimmer in the 200m Backstroke event and 6th in the 100m Backstroke; while Josh Hall ranks 2nd in the 100m Breaststroke and Dhill Anderson Lee ranks 10th in the 50m Butterfly event.

Olympian Jessie Khing Lacuna on the other hand registered impressive swims in the newly concluded 2nd SEA Federation Swimming Championship where he registered SEA Region’s 10th best time (51.68) in the 100m Freestyle event, and also 10th best time in the 200m Freestyle event with his 1:52.52 clocking.

National swimmers Jasmine Alkhaldi, Banjo Borja, Joboy Gonzalez, Matt Navatta and Fahad Alkhaldi have also registered quite impressive “short-course” times this year which are worthy of an SEA’s Top 10 ranking when converted to LC times. So as Fil-Ams (new recruits, hopefully) Maxime Rooney and Prudence Rooker.

The 2014 SEA Region Top 10 Ranking and early next year’s SEA Ranking will be the basis of the team selection for the 2015 SEA Games in Singapore next year. A top 5 “best time” in the SEA Ranking automatically gives our swimmers a slot in next year’s SEA Games.

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *