Team Philippines starts campaign at 9th World Taekwondo Poomsae Championship


Team Philippines, composed of young and veteran jins, started their campaign today at the 9th World Taekwondo Poomsae Championship in Aguascalientes, Mexico from October 30 to November 2, 2014.

A total of fourteen jins will be representing Philippines in the recognized and freestyle individual events, as well as pair and team events.

Glenn Lava, Jean Pierre Sabido and Ernesto Guzman will defend their gold medal at the recognized poomsae male over 30 team event, while the men’s under 30 team, composed of Raphael Enrico Mella, Dustin Mella and Rodolfo Reyes Jr., who won the silver medal last year (with Vidal Marvin Gabriel in the team, instead of Reyes) hopes to improve their showing this year and win the gold.

Other pinoy jins seeing action in Mexico are Jojo Ninobla (Recognized U-50), Rinna Babanto (Recognized & Freestyle U-17/Junior), Jocel Lyn Ninobla (Recognized U-30) and Juvenile Crisostomo (Freestyle Over 17).

Jocel Lyn Ninobla will then pair with Jeordan Dominguez for the Freestyle Mixed Pair event, while Glenn Lava, Jeordan Dominguez, Rani Ortega, Jaylord Seridon and Janice Lagaman team up for the Freestyle Team event.

The trio of Lagman, Crisostomo and Ortega will also team up for the Recognized U-30 Team event.

On the other hand, Ernesto Guzman is also entered in the recognize U-30 event, while Jean Pierre Sabido is also entered in the Freestyle Over 17 event.

Team Philippines is entered in 13 events, hoping to surpass their 3 gold, 3 silver and 5 bronze medals performance in last year’s 8th World Taekwondo Poomsae Championship in Bali, Indonesia.

Here’s the complete list of Medalists last year :

GOLD Medalists:
Recognized Poomsae Over 29 Male Team : Glen Lava, Ernesto Guzman & Jean Pierre Sabido
Recognize Poomsae Under 17 Female Team : Rinna Babanto, Jocel Ley Ninobla, Mikaela Calamba
Freestyle Individual Female Under 17 / Junior : Mikaela Calamba

SILVER Medalists:
Recognized Poomsae Under 29 Male Team : Vidal Marvin Gabriel, Raphael Enrico Mella & Dustin Mella
Freestyle Individual Male : Jean Pierre Sabido

BRONZE Medalist:
Freestyle Mixed Team : Glen Lava, Ernesto Guzman, Jean Pierre Sabido, Rani Ortega & Janice Lagman

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *