PH beach volleyball squad sees action at Olympic qualifying event


The Philippine Volleyball Federation (PVF) aims to qualify for the first time in the Olympic Games as the Philippine beach volleyball squad joins the AVC Beach Volleyball Continental Cup Sub Zonal Qualifying Tour for SEA Zone from November 10-11, 2014 in Bangkok, Thailand.

PVF President Geoffery Karl Chan said that PVF targets to give honor to the country and to make history for qualifying in the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro in Brazil.

Two pairs of men’s and women’s team will represent Philippines in the qualifying tournament organized by the world volleyball governing body, FIVB, and Asian region, AVC, for countries that cannot join the series of tournaments where players earn points to qualify for the Olympics.

The women’s teams are composed of Michelle Datuin and Gretchen Ho tandem, as well as the pair of Elaine Casilad of University of Perpetual Help and Cherry Anne Rondina of University of Santo Tomas (UST).

The long-time partners Jade Picaldo and Eduard Ybanez of Univeristy of Visayas, as well as the pair of Edward Bonono of Cagayan de Oro and Loujie Tipgos of Cebu will see action in the men’s division to be held in the Valaya Alongkorn Rajabhat University, Prathumthani Province.

Philippines last joined the olympic qualifying tournament in the beach volleyball in 2005, with Fil-Americans Diane Pascua and Heidi Ilustre joining the tournament series, but failed to qualify to the Olympics.

Philippines will face the countries in the Southeastern Zone which include Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam at Laos.

Included in the Central Zone are India, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Iran, Kazakhstan and Pakistan; while Eastern Zone will be composed of China, Hong Kong, Korea, Japan, Chinese Taipei and Macau.

Composing the Western Zone are Oman, Yemen, Saudi Arabia, Lebanon, UAE, Kuwait, Qatar, Bahrain and Syria.

The Oceania Zone include Northern Marianna, Guam, Papua New Guinea, Australia, Fiji, Tuvalu, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, American Samoa, Samoa, Cook Islands, New Zealand and Tonga.

The Continental Beach Volleyball Cup is staged as the Olympic qualifying event every other two years for specific continents, which is divided into sub-zones, zones and continental finals. The winner will qualify at the 2016 Olympic Games.

The Sub-zonal tournament is staged in five AVC Zones which is composed of Eastern Zone, Southeastern Zone, Central Zone, Western Zone and Oceania. The Eastern, Southeastern, Central are Western have two sub-zonal tournaments, while Oceania has three.

Because of “religious differences” in Asian countries, only the Eastern, Southeastern and Oceania have only two “gender events”, while the rest only have the men’s beach volleyball event.

Tournament seeding is implemented through the AVC National Federation ranking points where the top two countries in every tournament will advance to the next round of the tournament.

Source : Balita Online

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *